Asian Surveying & Mapping
Breaking News
China launches 2 environmental monitoring satellites for emergency responses
China successfully launched two environmental monitoring satellites at 11:23...
UAE to launch MeznSat
The UAE will launch the “MeznSat” satellite, on Monday,...
Matternet Expands Operations to Asia Through Drone Delivery Partnership with Japan Airlines
MOUNTAIN VIEW, Calif., - Today, Matternet, developer of the world's leading...
Space Foundation Signs MOU with UAE’s Al Suwaidi Private Office & Group
COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. — Abu Dhabi, UAE — — Space...
Seven HKU young scientists awarded China’s Excellent Young Scientists Fund 2020
Young researchers at the University of Hong Kong have...
Launch Of South Korean CAS500-1 Satellite Delayed Until 2021
MOSCOW - The launch of South Korean CAS500-1 (Compact Advanced Satellite...
India, US likely to ink geospatial intelligence pact ahead of November 3 presidential election
The last high-level engagement between New Delhi and Donald...
Dubai Police Select Draganfly to Pilot New Drone Initiatives
Los Angeles, California - Draganfly Inc. (OTCQB: DFLYF) (CSE:...
EU and China sign landmark agreement protecting European Geographical Indications
Today, the EU and China signed a bilateral agreement...
China’s optical remote sensing satellite fails to enter pre-set orbit
China has declared the Kuaizhou-1A rocket mission a failure...

August 13th, 2020
2020 URISA Board Election Results Announced

Des Plaines, IL – URISA is pleased to announce the results of its 2020 URISA Board of Directors’ election.
Brent Jones will serve in the position of President-Elect and Kathryn Brewer, Xan Fredericks, and Steve Steinberg will serve as Directors. They will all begin their three-year terms at the conclusion of GIS-Pro 2020 which will be presented virtually this year.

Brent Jones, PE, PLS, Global Manager, Land Records/Cadastre, Esri, Vienna Virginia

“I am honored to serve URISA as President-Elect. URISA has a long and storied history of delivering exemplary conferences and educational opportunities as well as important guidance and significant support for geospatial professionals’ careers. URISA has been a model organization with a unique ability to deliver a dynamic inclusive networking environment.  In these difficult times, URISA has a renewed commitment to be inclusive with networking and volunteer opportunities at all levels of the organization. With such rapidly-changing technology, URISA has been a model, stable, ongoing voice with policy issues keeping members informed with pertinent information on issues facing GIS professionals.  It has been the go-to organization for those beginning their GIS careers with limitless opportunities to contribute as part of the award-winning Vanguard Cabinet. I look forward to contributing to the growing, committed URISA community of GIS professionals.”

Brent will serve as President-Elect for one year and his term as President will begin at the conclusion of GIS-Pro 2021.
Newly-elected URISA Board of Directors:
  • Kathryn Brewer, GISPPrincipal/GIS Project ManagerSpatial Relationships LLCBoston Massachusetts
  • Xan Fredericks, GISP,  Lidar Coordinator/Associate National Map Liaison, US Geological Survey, St Petersburg, Florida
  • Steven J. Steinberg, Ph.D., MPA, GISP, Geographic Information Officer (GIO), County of Los Angeles, Los Angeles, California

Kevin Mickey was elected by the membership as President-Elect last year and will begin his term as President of URISA at the conclusion of GIS-Pro 2020. Keri Brennan will become Immediate Past-President at that time.

At the close of GIS-Pro 2020, the terms of service for these URISA Board members will conclude and we thank them all, in advance, for their amazing dedication and service to URISA:

  • Immediate Past-PresidentKim McDonough, GISPTennessee Department of TransportationNashville, Tennessee
  • Board SecretaryBryan Townsend, GISPYork CountyYork, South Carolina
  • Lynn Dupont, GISP, ASLARegional Planning CommissionNew Orleans, Louisiana
  • Michael (Glenn) O’Grady, GISPPlanning Commission Chairman (Retired)City of Encinitas, California